The Rite of Passage and the Gift That Keeps on Giving

Some time late last year, my father and I along with my fiancee acquired a pair of .22 caliber rifles from a local firearms manufacturer: United Defense Manufacturing Company. We bought these to support local businesses, even if the rifles cost nearly twice as much as an imported one. The saga of these rifles is a long one, but to summarize: there were BIG problems and we are extremely dissatisfied with how the company treated us throughout the seeking of resolutions to these problems, though they did replace the BCGs with CMMG brand versions so props to them for that. We still continue to find problems with these rifles to this very day. Fixing them ourselves has proven to be the least stressful and expedient method of overcoming the issues. Also, I must mention the amount of knowledge gained from working on these fixes has no monetary equivalent. Hence these are the “gifts” that keep on giving.

Overcoming these obstacles has been a right of passage so to say, because after this, I don’t think it could get any worse.

So I want to thank the manufacturer for making substandard rifles. You have not only brought myself, my soon to be wife, and my father much, much closer but you have also expanded our knowledge of the AR platform. I can’t wait to start re-testing the other rifles we got from them.

Days spent with the three of us in our little workshop at my parents farm are some of the best days I’ve ever had with my dad.

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

